A&M Village Restaurant

4 03 2010

The owner of this restaurant in Batangas City is the family of of my elementary classmate/friend. I’ve been to A&M Village Restaurant even in my grade school years because that’s where we usually practice for cheering contests (they have a huge parking space, at least to me when I was young… a child’s perception of space changes as he gets older *wink*) ๐Ÿ˜› I have to admit that I didn’t go back to A&M until I started teaching in Batangas on weekends. While Dad always tells me that he brings his clients and friends to A&M for business lunches/dinners, I never thought of going back to A&M to eat with friends or even with family.

There was this one time when our Dean invited us to a faculty meeting in A&M. All the members of the faculty were saying that they serve good food. We were convinced ๐Ÿ™‚

We usually hold our meetings in Hotel Ponte Fino but this one time,ย our Dean thought it would be good to dine at a uniquely Batangueรฑo restaurant. We thank him for bringing back A&M into my system and for introducing hubby to this restaurant.

Since then, every time we go home to Batangas, A&M has been our Sunday lunch venue.

Finding A&M is easy ๐Ÿ™‚ Before reaching University of Batangas, there’s a junction with all these signs:


Can you see A&M’s sign? ๐Ÿ™‚

Turn right and go straight ahead until you see this:

You can verify that you’re already at A&M when you see this in front ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s not a fancy restaurant. It’s a house converted into a restaurant so the feel is homey ๐Ÿ™‚

There are lots of things going on in the wall. You’ll find masks and some art pieces. These two are the most interesting for me ๐Ÿ™‚

This one makes me want to put up a resto and call it The Gourmet Dept. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, if you ask me about A&M’s specialty, I’d say that it’s their Beef Caldereta. It’s so good they even offer Caldereta Spaghetti ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s like that pasta in Cyma with beef shanks. What we usually order there is their Native Lunch for only P240.

Yup, you read it right. That’s sinigang na hipon or isda AND inihaw na baboy or caldereta. Mix and match galore! There’s more. I want to tell you that you can tell that a restaurant is owned by a Batangueรฑo if instead of patis, they offer Bagoong Balayan ๐Ÿ˜›

Our sauces, take your pick (from down right: toyo-mansi, suka’t toyo, bagoong and calamansi with chili, pure suka)

I’m sure you’re excited to find out what we got ๐Ÿ™‚ For that day, these are what we ordered:

Frozen buko juice
Calamares with sweet n sour sauce
Beef caldereta… so yummy!
Sinigang na hipon (native lunch portion)
What a native lunch combo looks like: sinigang na tanigue + inihaw na baboy ๐Ÿ™‚

Next time you are in Batangas, please don’t settle for any restaurant in SM City. Try A&M Village Restaurant. They have lutong bahay at its finest! ๐Ÿ™‚

*my original post is in YadaYadaYada
Actions

Information

7 responses

24 06 2010
cristina uy

Thankyou very much ….My mom,Maria Luisa Borbon Uy, worked so hard …..she was always after our Customer’s satisfaction…..We have been awarded the cleanest restaurant in Region IV ….the restaurant will be “your home away from home”
We have been in the restaurant business for 44 years now…..we have always maintained the quality of food we serve for a very affordable price…….
WE WILL ALWAYS BE AT YOUR SERVICE…..

I am Cristina Uy….anak ni Marilou……maraming salamat….balik po kayo!

27 06 2010
warlocknation

Hi Ms. Cristina ๐Ÿ™‚ You don’t have to thank me much for writing about A&M. Your mom and your family have pretty much established the good reputation of A&M by yourselves and you don’t need a small blog like this one to spread the word. Then again, the reason why I’m starting this blog is to highlight what we have in Batangas and to encourage people to come to our province and enjoy the beautiful things we got there. And your restaurant is truly one of the uniquely Batangueรฑo restaurants I would not be embarrassed to recommend ๐Ÿ™‚ More power!

Btw, I’m a classmate of Ybelle and Abby ๐Ÿ™‚

23 03 2011
James Escano

Hello
My name is James, I will be celebrating my birthday there in Batangas on July 9 2011 and would like to inquire about your restaurant, been there may times in the past, most recent one was 2005. dont remember much about the set up but I remember it as being roomy as we always visit during late hours with my friends. I can either bring my caterer or use in house, how about alcohol consumption and posibility of getting a band or a DJ. please acknowlege.
you can also provide me with a name and contact number and I will call you back.
Looking forward to hear from you, Thanks
James Escano

14 06 2011
warlocknation

Hi James. I’m sorry but I don’t own A&M village restaurant. I just happened to enjoy their food and wrote about our experience there. If you want to contact them and inquire about the details for what you have in mind, you may reach them through (043) 723 – 1118 ๐Ÿ™‚

13 06 2011
Carlo

Do you have their phone number?

14 06 2011
warlocknation

hi Carlo, here’s their number: (043) 723 – 1118

13 06 2011
Carlo

you can reach me at http://www.carlodimaandal.com

thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

